Plans with Denovali

Hello all,

Its my pleasure to announce some exciting events to add to your hypothetical calendars…

First of all, I would like to announce that the upcoming 2xCD/2xLP release from The Alvaret Ensemble will be released in December this year on Denovali Records. This release was a long time coming, and it is one that I am incredibly proud of. After some initial setbacks, we are very happy to find a home with the guys at Denovali.

As some of you may know, The Alvaret Ensemble is myself, Jan Kleefstra, Romke Kleefstra and Sytze Pruiksma, and on this release we are joined by a whole host of musicians including Iden Rienhart, Hilary Jeffery, Peter Broderick and Martyn Heyne. The album comes out of three days of improvisation in the Grunewaldkirche in Berlin back in August of last year. To truly experience The Alvaret Ensemble, try to catch one of live shows – perhaps consider booking us in your city for a release concert around the end of 2012 or the beginning of 2013!

Second up, I can announce that those busy people at Denovali will be releasing a 6xLP retrospective boxset of all my previous solo albums along with some bonus material. This should be out at some point in the first half of 2013, so if like me you are a vinyl kind-of-person, now is your chance to hear all my old work on the best format out there!

Lastly, I would like to say that I have been added to the line-up for the Denovali Swingfest in Essen on October 6th. One of the other artists had to drop out, so I have an early evening slot on the Saturday. I think its going to be a great day, especially as the Moritz Von Oswald Trio will be ending the night – an act I have been meaning to see live for a long time.

For more information on the festival, which runs from October 5th-7th, head over to denovali.com/swingfest.

In other news, there are a lot of exciting plans already for 2013, some of which I can hopefully announce soon. Its going to be a great year…

Thats all for now!